make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-9

 

Hello my little kitties!

As you know, December is the DIY month so let’s show you another one! This little DIY has been imagined for our Lemonade Studio sale we organized last weekend. I was so proud of it that I wanted to share it with you guys: ultimate satisfaction! Moreover, we always need a folding screen at home to separate a room in two or to hide a messy one… You will see, it is very easy; you just need to manage the electric screwdriver and the shading off effect! Do not hesitate to ask the seller to cut the wooden boards at the dimensions you want… Have fun!

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-1

 

For this DIY you need: (you can find everything at Leroy Merlin for around €40)

  • – 5 wooden boards OSB 170x32cm (2cm thick),
  • – 12 hinges (3 holes of 2cm width),
  • – An electric screwdriver,
  • – Screws 3.5×16 (minimum),
  • – Felt pads,
  • – A ruler,
  • – A pen,
  • – A small paint roller,
  • – White paint,
  • – A white paint spray.

Take two wooden boards and put the side by side, widthwise.

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-2

 

With a ruler, mark the right place of the first hinge (from 10cm of the edge of the board). Use screws and the electric screwdriver to fix it! (You will see that you will have no regret about buying this electric screwdriver).

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-3

 

Do the same on the other end of both wooden boards (3 hinges in total, lengthwise). Repeat these steps with the next wooden board (each time you take a new board, do not forget to change the side of it when you put the hinges).

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-4

 

Continue until you get your 5 boards assembled together!

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-6

 

Stick the felt pads at the bottom of the boards in order not to damage the floor. You can also fix some wheels if you want. Here we are!

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-7

 

We decided to paint our folding screen in a white shading off because we wanted it to be matching with the floor but you can also use another color if you prefer. Start to paint half folding screen and to create the shading off effect, use a white paint spray for the transition. Place the spray from 30cm of the board with a 45° inclination. Do not forget to paint the edges of the boards! Here we are again!

 

make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-paravent-youpi-8

 

Translated by Coralie Clair
Pour lire ce post en français, cliquez ici !

Hello mes petits chats !

On poursuit sur notre lancée Do it Yourself du mois de décembre ! Ce petit DIY a été imaginé pour notre vente au Lemonade Studio du week-end dernier. Mais je ne vous cache que j’ai été tellement fière de mon coup que j’ai envie de vous faire partager ce sentiment de satisfaction ultime ! Et puis on a toujours besoin d’un paravent chez soi, pour cloisonner une pièce ou pour cacher un chantier en cours… Vous allez voir c’est vraiment un bricolage facile, histoire de vous familiariser avec la visseuse, et de maîtriser l’effet dégradé ! Alors n’hésitez pas aussi à vous faciliter la tâche en demandant au vendeur de votre magasin de bricolage de vous découper vos plaques de bois à vos dimensions… Dégainez vos charnières et amusez-vous !

Pour ce DIY vous trouverez tout ce dont vous avez besoin chez Leroy Merlin pour une quarantaine d’euros :

  • – 5 plaques de bois OSB 170x32cm, de 2cm d’épaisseur,
  • – 12 charnières 3 trous de 2cm de large,
  • – Une visseuse ou un bon coup de poignet,
  • – Des vis 3,5 x 16 (minimum),
  • – Des petits patins,
  • – Un réglet,
  • – Un stylo,
  • – Un petit rouleau à peinture,
  • – De la peinture blanche,
  • – Une bombe de peinture blanche.

Commencez par prendre deux planches et mettez-les côtes à côtes dans le sens de la largeur.

A l’aide votre réglet, marquez l’emplacement de la première charnière, à 10cm du bord des planches. Munissez vous de vos vis et de votre visseuse et fixez la charnière ! (Vous allez voir que vous allez peut être regretter de ne pas avoir acheté de visseuse).

Faites de même à l’autre extrémité sur les deux planches (trois charnières en tout sur toute la longueur). Et répétez les étapes avec la planche suivante (n’oubliez pas d’alterner le côté de la planche sur lequel vous mettez les charnières à chaque nouvelle planche).

Continuez jusqu’à ce que vous ayez assemblé les 5 planches ! Si vous avez une légère crampe au poignet, je vous rassure, c’est tout à fait normal !

Collez vos patins au bas des planches, cela vous évitera d’abîmer votre sol vous pouvez aussi imaginer fixer des roulettes ! Et premier Ta-Da !

Nous avons décidé de peindre notre paravent en dégradé de blanc, libre à vous de faire des variantes mais nous aimions bien le fait que le paravent semble sortir du sol. Commencez par peindre le paravent jusqu’à mi-hauteur de ce dernier, pour faire ce dégradé, vous pouvez aussi utiliser une bombe de peinture blanche pour fondre la transition peinture/OSB.  Pour dégrader la peinture, placez la bombe de peinture à 30cm de la planche avec une inclinaison de 45°, et allez vite doucement pour faire “monter” la couleur. N’oubliez pas de peindre la tranche de vos planches !

Et TA-DA !!

To read this post in English, click here!