Cook / 14.02.2013
CALISSONS

 

My little kittens, I’m over the moon right now, I’m back from NYC with my lover. I know it’s crazy, it was 4 days of excitation, 4 days of intense fashion week, of crazy encounters backstage and of amazing pictures ! But I will quickly come back to it…

I initially wanted to put this recipe in a Diamond Shape theme week (smart right?) but I think colors are great for the occasion and if you put two Calissons together it kind of forms a heart… I clearly am on a cheesy mood… I know I know, I can already hear you saying that Valentine’s day is a commercial occasion but I like to tell to my people that I love them and I wanted to do something special… Especially after the avalanche of love that I had following my last 3 posts ! I wish you as much love as it is possible to receive, you have no idea how much your little words reach me! I come back to you really soon with lots of answers to many of your questions of which some made me laugh so hard… Thank you again… And without further delay the Calisson of Love recipe ! 

 

CALISSONS1
 

 

To make 20 or so Calissons, you will need:

  • –  150 g almond powder
  • –  100 g powdered sugar
  • –  100 g dried apricot
  • –  50 g crystallized ginger
  • –  75 g crystallized melon
  • –  2 teaspoons orange blossom
  • –  2 teaspoons apricot marmalade
  • –  A sheet of unleavened paper

 

CALISSONS2
 

 

For the dough: Start by taking your blender and making sure it is very sharpened otherwise your task will be very complicated, really… So while your asking everyone of your neighbor for a sharpened blender, mix together the almond powder and the powdered sugar on the baking tray and leave it to dry for 30 minutes at 120°C medium height. Meanwhile cut the crystallized fruits in little pieces. Then put them in the blender and start it at full power! When you have a thin and super sticky sort of fruit jelly, add the orange blossom and blend again. Once your almond and sugar mix is dry and cool, add it to the blender and blend for aprox. 1 minute. You will have a homogeneous dough that will peel away from the blender by itself.

Put your unleavened paper sheet on a straight and dry surface, the square-patterned side on the surface, and put your ball of dough on it and uniformly flatten it to have a 0.5 cm layer. Let it cool for at least an hour. After that time cut your Calisson with a punch or small knife.

 For the frosting it’s easy. Gently mix 35 g of white egg with 160 g of powdered sugar. You are free to add food coloring or not… And you only have to coat the top of your Calissons with a butter knife and to smooth their sides with your finger. Leave it to take to an hour in a dry place and enjoy ! Happy Valentine’s day !

 

gif-saint-valentin
Lire la suite
Happy friday / 08.02.2013

Happy Friday todos !

I am in a terribly good mood and it is your fault. Yes, your fault because you are throwing all this love to my face and if you are wondering what I do about it, let me tell you that I take it and wrap myself into it. And I enjoy it ! Thank you THANK YOU thank you.

And I’m in a good mood also because of my new hair cut… Who says my-new-hair-cut, says Fred… Of course it is signed by our national Fred! I love the idea that Fred is a rare and precious thing… A bit like a head designer as if I had a pair of Louboutin instead of my hair… Thank you Fred, for your fingers and for the snip of your golden scissors.

But?! You’re gonna ask me, «you cannot do your bun anymore ?!» Well no, and I’m happy about it. With this almost existential question that is «are we cutting or not?» I feel like brand new! My mother (I keep talking about her these days!) sent me this picture of five-years-old me with a bun and a stripped tee-shirt and I thought «it’s crazy because we could take the exact same picture».

 Only, the thing is it kind of scares me in a way… Time is passing by and damn! I’ve had the same hair cut, the same look, the same face for 20 years… And the night after, in a dream that was so introspective that Freud’s beard would straigthen, I was cutting my bun from its base… I feel bad. I call Fred at 8:04 am and he says «we cut baby». And I relive. Just like I was born again (yes, rebirth), a chapter is closing, my hair are flying… I’m crazy ! Have a wonderful weekend ! 

 

 

happy-friday-38
 

Today I’m wearing little cute flat ballerinas from Valensi, red dotted swiss tights from H&M and a pair of red chino pants La Redoute. This look should remind you of another one… A dress bought more than a year ago at Topshop, but so short that I’d rather wear it like a blouse… A DIY kitty bag…mine this time, et Rimmel London lipstick (the Kiss of Love 111 color)…

 

 

happy-fridaycut
Lire la suite
Mood / 06.02.2013
GIF-1-an-MML

 

It gives me the creeps to think about all of what happened this past year… How the informal platform that is WordPress became for me such an escape, a kind of extraordinary window that pushes me on doings more things, on getting better and trying to do my best every time…

 It’s crazy how a one-year anniversary can also feel like the circle is complete and the moment to ask myself a thousand questions. «Do I keep going ?» « What could I do to re-new myself?» «If everything ends tomorrow, how would I take it?»… So many quasi existential questions that have only one answer : «Keep doing what you like and stop asking yourself so many questions».

 So here we go… You should take your hankies, it’s gonna be emotional. In one year I can only make an assessment… A pretty awesome one… On a personal level I have the feeling that I am like a little machine, let’s say a pressure cooker, the more I do things the more I have ideas and wishes and that’s a powerful driving force that makes me get up in the morning with one desire: learn and do… I have a new creative hygiene that makes me want to get out of my comfort zones. On a professional level I met a bunch of people who’ve trusted me and given me jobs. I won’t list all my projects from 2012 but I keep in mind my favorite moments with a special mention to «OMG I am writing a book» and «Okay, I’m working freelance now» to quote only them… And on the human level, Make My Lemonade allowed me to meet a whole bunch of great people and friends (photographer, color designer, hair designer, journalist and so on) and I LOVE them with real love, I call them ten times a day to tell them because they have to understand how great they are…

 But most importantly, it was you. My great encounter was you. I feel like for a year all I’ve been saying is thank you but it’s because I am very aware that all these amazing things that keeps happening to me are also thanks to you. Thanks to the fact that you are always more and more to come here everyday (and I know dude are also hanging around) so THANK YOU. And thank you to those of you who stop me in the street to tell me to keep going even though I’m exhausted, ringed, wearing nonsense, loaded with all my stuff, in love, or even – it happened – all of that at the same time. THANKYOU.

 And now is the Oscar presentation time: thank you Mum for correcting my mistakes when you wake up and thank you for your support worthy of Michael Angelo’s mother. Thank you dad for telling me it was a mistake to make a blog because «you’re going to give away your idea to everybody» and to look at me like I’m an alien. Thank you my love for pushing me a year ago «to do something» even though you might regret it sometimes when I’m glued to my screen, I’m working on that… Thank you to all my friends for their support, their sharing, their help and their kindness, and a special thank you to my Justine B. because…

Lire la suite

Cook / 14.02.2013
7664eb902e63aedab84deccca6c28e71

 Les petits chats je suis sur un petit nuage, je rentre de New york, avec mon amoureux oui je sais c’est de la folie, 4 jours de délire, 4 jours de fashion week intenses, de recontres de folies de backstage et d’images incroyables! Mais je vous en reparle très vite… J’avais initialement prévu cette recette pour une semaine spéciale losanges… ( pas bête hein…) Mais en fait je trouve que les couleurs sont de circonstance et puis deux calissons côte à côte c’est un peu un coeur… je suis carrément d’humeur cheesy… Certes, je vous entends déjà me sermonner que la saint Valentin c’est une fête commerciale et tout et tout mais moi j’aime bien dire aux mes proches que je les aime et puis j’avais envie de marquer le coup… Après l’avalanche d’amour que j’ai reçue pour mes 3 derniers posts! Je vous souhaite autant d’amour que cela est possible d’en recevoir et vous n’avez pas idée comme vos mots me touchent! Je reviens très vite vers vous avec tout un tas de réponses à beaucoup de vos questions qui m’ont fait pour certaines hurler de rire… Merci encore… sans plus attendre la recette des calissons de l’amour!   

 

defdee2040e0224d4ecc8db665926584

 

Pour une vingtaine de calissons il vous faut:

  • 150g de poudre d’amandes,
  • 100g de sucre glace,
  • 100g d’abricots secs,
  • 50g de gingembre confit,
  • 75g de melon confit,
  • 2 c à c de fleur d’oranger,
  • 2 c à c de confiture d’abricots 
  • et une feuille de papier azyme.

 

146da659a709163d10f953ac1b3331f9

 

Pour la pâte, pour commencer munissez vous de votre blender super bien affuté sinon ça s’avèrera compliqué, vraiment…Durant votre recherche intensive chez tous vos voisins du blender qui tue, mélangez sur la plaque à rebord de votre four, la poudre d’amandes et le sucre glace et laissez sécher pendant 30 minutes à 120°C à mi hauteur. Pendant ce temps débitez les fruits confits en petit morceaux. Puis placez dans votre mixeur avec la confiture et mixer à plein tube! Vous allez obtenir une pâte de fruit très fine et super collante, ajoutez à ce moment là la fleur d’oranger. Et mixez de nouveau… Une fois le mélange sec et refroidi, ajoutez le dans le blender et mixez pendant environ 1 grosse minute, et vous allez obtenir une pâte bien homogène qui se détache toute seule des parois du robot. 

Placez votre feuille azyme sur un plan bien sec et droit, face quadrillée contre le plan de travail, et posez votre boule de pâte sur la feuille, aplatissez la de façon uniforme en une couche de 0,5 cm de hauteur, et laissez refroidir l’ensemble durant une grosse heure. Puis une fois ce temps écoulé, débitez les calissons à l’aide d’un emporte pièce ou d’un petit couteau. Et pour le glaçage c’est facile mélangez délicatement 35 g de blanc d’oeuf avec 160g de sucre glace, pour le colorant libre à vous d’en mettre… et pour glacer les calissons il vous suffit de napper le dessus de ces derniers avec un couteau à beurre et de lisser au doigt les côtés. Et laissez prendre le glaçage durant 1 heure dans un espace sec et régalez vous! Bonne saint Valentin!   

 

gif-saint-valentin
 

Lire la suite
Happy friday / 08.02.2013

Happy friday todos! 

Je suis de terriblement bonne humeur, la faute à qui hein? La faute à vous, qui me balançez de l’amour en pleine poire, tout cet amour j’en fais quoi? Ben j’avoue je le reçois, je me roule dedans, j’y suis bien et je profite MERCI! ( encore!? ok j’arrête mais quand même merci pour tout ça)

Et aussi si je suis de bonne humeur c’est la faute à ma nouvelle coupe, qui dis- je ma nouvelle cut… Evidemment c’est signé notre Fred national, j’adore l’idée que Fred est une chose rare et précieuse.  Un peu comme un couturier de la tête, comme si j’avais une paire de louboutin à la place des veuch… Merci Fred, pour tes doigts et ton coup de ciseaux d’or.

Mais vous allez me dire mais tu ne vas plus pouvoir faire ton chignon sur le dessus de ta tête?! Et bien non et j’en suis bien contente. Dans cette décision quasi existentielle du “on coupe ou on coupe pas?” je me sens toute neuve! Ma mère ( décidément je vous en parle tous les jours en ce moment…) m’a envoyé cette photo de moi à 5 ans avec un Bun et une marinière et je me suis dis: c’est fou on pourrait refaire la même.

Mais en fait cela m’a fait un peu flipper, le temps qui passe qui passe, et merde cela fait 20 ans que tu as la même tête, coupe, look etc… La nuit suivante dans un rêve tellement introspectif qui ferait défriser la barbe de Freud, J’ai rêvé que je me coupais le bun à la base du chignon…. Je vais mal. J’appelle Fred évidemment à 8h04 et il me dit: on coupe bébé. Et là je revis, allez savoir pourquoi comme une renaissance ( oui une renaissance, je n’exagère pas ) une page qui tourne, des cheveux qui volent…Je suis folle, passez un merveilleux week-end!  

 

happy-friday-38
 

 Aujourd’hui je porte, des petites ballerines adorables Valensi sur Sarenza, Des collant plumetis rouge H&M, et un chino rouge La redoute, cette silhouette devrait vous en rappeler une autre…  Une robe shoppé il y a plus d’un an chez topshop mais elle était tellement courte que je préfère la porter en blouse… un sac chaton DIY…. le mien celui la, et du rouge à lèvre Rimmel london le KISS OF LOVE 111. LOVE U 

 

happy-fridaycut
Lire la suite
Mood / 06.02.2013
GIF-1-an-MML

 

J’ai la chair de poule en repensant à tout ce qui s’est passé cette dernière année… Une plateforme informelle comme WordPress est devenue une sorte d’évasion, de petite fenêtre extraordinaire qui en plus de me pousser à faire des choses, me pousse à m’améliorer, à essayer de faire mieux à chaque fois…

C’est fou comme un anniversaire, une année c’est aussi une boucle qui se termine,  le moment de se poser mille questions, Est ce que je continue? Qu’est ce que je peux faire aussi pour me re-nouveler? Et si demain tout s’arrête comment je le vivrais? Autant de questions quasi existentielles mais une seule réponse, “Continue à faire ce qui te fait envie et arrête de te poser des questions”.

Alors voilà sortez vos mouchoirs la séquence émotion arrive. En une année je ne peux que faire un bilan… Et un bilan sacrément positif… Déjà sur le plan perso, j’ai la sensation que je suis une petite machine, une cocotte minute, plus je fais des choses, plus j’ai des idées et des envies et ça c’est un moteur dingue, qui me fait me lever le matin, avec une seule envie: apprendre et faire…  Une nouvelle hygiène de création qui me donne envie de sortir de mes zones de confort.  Sur le plan professionnel, j’ai rencontré de tas de personnes qui m’ont fait confiance et donné du boulot, je ne vais pas vous faire un récap des projets 2012, mes moment préférés je les garde en tête avec une mention spéciale pour ” OH putain je vais écrire un livre” et ” bon ben je vais me lancer en free lance”…. entre autre. Et surtout sur le plan humain, montez Make my lemonade m’a permis de rencontrer des tas de gens tops et surtout des amis, ( photographe, color designeuse, plasticien du cheveu, journaliste et j’en passe ) et je les AIME d’amour, je les saôule de 10 appels par jour mais faut qu’il comprennent qu’ils sont géniaux…

 Mais surtout de vous “rencontrer” vous, j’ai l’impression que depuis un an je passe ma vie à vous dire merci, mais je suis tellement consciente que si toutes ces choses incroyables m’arrivent aujourd’hui c’est aussi grâce à vous. Grâce au fait que vous venez toujours plus nombreux ( si si je sais qu’il y a des mecs qui trainent par là ) et nombreuses, alors MERCI. Et merci à celles qui viennent me dire de continuer lorsque l’on se croise dans la rue, quand je suis cernée, au bout du rouleau, habillée n’importe comment, chargée comme une mule, amoureuse ou bien même, c’est arrivé, tout ça en même temps. MERCI.

 Et maintenant je vais faire ma séquence remise d’Oscar mais Merci maman de corriger mes fautes au saut du lit et merci pour tes encouragements dignes de la mère de Michel Ange. Merci mon papa pour m’avoir dit que c’était une connerie de monter un blog ” tu vas donner tes idées à tout le monde”, et de me regarder comme une extra terrestre. Merci mon amoureux qui m’a poussé  il y a un an à “faire quelque chose” même si des fois tu dois le regretter à me voir vampirisée par mon écran, j’arrange ça… Merci à tous mes amis pour leur soutien, leur partage, leurs petites mains et leur bienveillance, et merci spécial à ma Justine B. parce que…  

Lire la suite