MAKE-MY-LEMONAD-do-it-yourself-bike-pimp-my-bike-3

Hello my little kitties!

We end this week with a last DIY and I hope you enjoyed the Lemon Week because we had so much fun doing it! Today’s guest is Antoine, Charlotte’s lover! Last winter, I discovered Antoine’s passion for bikes renovation when he transformed an old bike into a Rolls Royce for her Charlotte. Glitters and matt paint: Amazing…

MAKE-MY-LEMONAD-do-it-yourself-bike-pimp-my-bike-1

I asked him to take care of my little white bike that spent so many months outside and really did not look well anymore. He turned my little rusty bike into a Lemonademobile! I am going to show you this radical makeover! If you also want to restore the old bikes you have in your cellar, Antoine really does a great job and he offers his services for €100 per bike (excluding purchase of new equipment), so if you are interested, you can send him an email at antoine.seveau@gmail.com!

MAKE-MY-LEMONAD-do-it-yourself-bike-pimp-my-bike-2

As a little aside, I wanted to talk about good deals on the web and especially thank the Holland Bikes eshop for giving us some equipment to restore the lemon bike! Here you can find some stuff that have been changed or added to the bike:

MAKE-MY-LEMONAD-do-it-yourself-bike-pimp-my-bike-5

I have always wanted to have a nice saddle on my bike but I admit that the main issue in Paris is theft. For this reason, Antoine had the good idea to create a kind of dissuasive lock tying the saddle to the bicycle’s frame with the bike chain (a yellow one, of course!)

MAKE-MY-LEMONAD-do-it-yourself-bike-pimp-my-bike-4

I never really liked the idea of having a basket on my bike but I have to admit that it is very practical to carry so many things. I only wanted to have a metal one like E.T.s and then I have realized that you need to have a luggage carrier to put you basket on. However, it is not often the case for old bikes with little wheels! For this reason, Antoine fixed the basket to the handlebars thanks to a lot of plastic clamp collars and here we are! As a bonus, he is going to share with you the glitter bike handles DIY that you can also realize with leather!

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-1

You need:

  • – The pattern that you can download here
  • – Glitter fabric or leather
  • – Pen
  • – Scissors
  • – Tape (around 2m for both handles)
  • – Hole punch plier
  • – Cork
  • – Double-sided adhesive tape

To start, print and cut the pattern.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-2

Use the tip of the scissors to create holes in the pattern and draw it on the other side of the fabric or leather.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-3

Cut the shape of the handle and use the hole punch plier (diameter 0,3cm).

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-4

Check that the handle has the good proportion (it is a standard size but it is better to verify). It has to cover the whole tube without overlapping.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-5

Cut a piece of double-sided adhesive tape that should be the same length as the handle and stick it in the middle.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-6

Then, stick the super glitter handle to the bike thanks to the double-sided adhesive tape but anticipate the place of the lace before doing it.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-7

Then pass it through the two first holes facing this one. Keep it that way crossing the tape and always pass the lace from the inside to the outside of the handle.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-8

Here we are, you probably feel as proud as the first time you tied your shoelaces! Twist the extra tape and put it inside the handle.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-9

Now cut the cork in two (one part of each handle). Put them in each handle hole. Do not push too much because you will not be able to take it back (unless you have a corkscrew)! If the cork does not really fit, you can bevel it with a cutter.

make-my-lemonade-lemon-week-antoine-velo-10

Cut two circles in the glitter paper (once again these are standard sizes but do not hesitate to measure the diameter of the handle just to be sure). Put some glue and fix them to the cork in order to have a perfect finish! Here we are!

Translated by Coralie Clair

Pour lire ce post en français, cliquez ici !

Hello mes petits chats !

La semaine s’achève sur un dernier DIY, j’espère que cette semaine vous aura plu autant qu’à nous de la préparer ! Pour vous raconter un peu qui est l’invité du jour, c’est Antoine, l’amoureux de notre Charlotte nationale ! En effet cet hiver, j’ai découvert la passion d’Antoine pour la rénovation des vélos, lorsque qu’il était en train de retaper un vélo tout pourri en Roll Royce, pour sa Charlotte. Finitions à paillettes et peinture mate : Sublime…

Je lui ai proposé de s’occuper de mon petit vélo blanc qui avait passé de longs mois dehors et qui ne ressemblait plus à grand chose. Il a transformé ma petit monture rouillée en lemonade mobile ! Je vais vous montrer cet relooking extrême ! Si vous aussi, vous voulez rénover vos vélos oubliés au fin fond de votre cave, Antoine fait des merveilles et propose ses services pour 100 euros par vélo ( hors achat de nouveau matériel), si vous êtes tentés vous pouvez lui écrire un petit mail antoine.seveau@gmail.com !

Je voudrais faire un aparté bon plan sur le web et remercier le e-shop Holland Bikes pour nous avoir fourni le matériel afin rénover notre lemon bike ! Et voici la liste des choses qui ont été changées et ajoutées à notre bolide :

J’ai toujours eu envie d’avoir une belle selle sur mon vélo mais j’avoue que le problème principal à Paris, c’est le vol. Alors Antoine nous a proposé une sorte d’antivol dissuasif, c’est d’accrocher sa selle au cadre de son vélo à l’aide de chaîne de vélo ( jaune évidemment ! )

J’ai toujours été récalcitrante à l’idée d’avoir un panier sur mon vélo mais je suis forcée de constater que c’est quand même bien pratique surtout pour trimballer tous nos trucs, je n’avais qu’une seule envie c’était d’avoir un panier en métal comme dans E.T. et puis il y avait un autre souci, c’est qu’il faut souvent avoir un porte bagage avant pour poser le panier dessus; or pour les vélos anciens avec des petites roues c’est une denrée rare ! Donc Antoine a fixé le panier au guidon à l’aide de nombreux colliers de serrage en plastique et TA-DA ! Sans plus attendre il vous livre en bonus le DIY des poignées glitter, à faire aussi en cuir !

Pour ce DIY il vous faut :

  • – le patron à télécharger ici,
  • – du tissu glitter ou du cuir,
  • – un stylo,
  • – des ciseaux,
  • – du ruban (environ 2m pour les deux poignées),
  • – une pince perforeuse,
  • – un bouchon de liège,
  • – du double-face.

Pour commencer, imprimez et découpez le patron.

Utilisez la pointe de vos ciseaux pour perforer les trous du patrons, reportez le patron sur l’envers de votre tissu ou cuir.

Découpez les contours de votre poignée et munissez-vous de votre pince pour perforer les trous, d’un diamètre d’environ 0,3cm.

Vérifiez maintenant que la poignée soit à la bonne taille (en général c’est standard mais on ne sait jamais). Elle doit faire le tour du tube sans dépasser ni se chevaucher.

Découpez un morceau de double-face de la même longueur que votre poignée en l’appliquant sur la longueur.

Placez maintenant votre super poignée glitter qui sera bien fixée grâce au double face. Pensez à bien anticiper le placement du lacet avant de coller parfaitement le double-face. Prenez votre ruban et passez-le dans le premier trou, en commençant sur la face intérieure du tissu.

Glissez votre lacet dans les deux premiers trous se faisant face. Continuez ainsi en croisant le ruban et en faisant bien attention à toujours passer le lacet de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur de la poignée.

Et voilà, vous éprouvez sans doute le même bonheur que la première fois que vous avez réussi à faire vos lacets ! Torsadez le surplus de ruban sur lui même et faite-le glisser à l’intérieur de la poignée.

Prenez maintenant votre bouchon de liège que vous aurez au préalable coupé en deux (un morceau pour chaque poignée). Glissez-le pour combler le trou, attention à ne pas trop appuyer sous peine de ne pas pouvoir le récupérer (à moins d’avoir un tire-bouchon à portée de main) ! Si jamais vous avez du mal à le faire entrer, n’hésitez pas à le biseauter un peu à l’aide d’un cutter.

Découpez deux ronds dans votre glitter encore une fois les tailles sont en général standards mais n’hésitez pas à mesurer le diamètre de votre poignée pour être sûre. Déposez de la colle et fixez le sur votre bouchon pour avoir une finition impeccable !

et Ta-Da !

To read this post in English, click here!