Hello my darlings!

I see that you’ve been inspired by the last article, you’re so funny. I don’t feel as alone in my capillary misadventures! So, here’s a do­it­yourself we did during the Ikea workshop last week. I’ve searched high and low how to perfect the speckled look, and I’ve found that a plastic pipette is the best way to make an irregular pattern that really stands out (a lot easier than splattering with a paint brush)… I hope you’ll like it and it’ll inspire you for those last minute gifts that don’t look last minute… a dish set for 2, a great way to perk up your romantic brunches!

Warm hugs and kisses, see you tomorrow for the Advent Calender Contest!

For this DIY you’ll need:

  • dishes
  • plastic gloves to protect your lovely hands
  • ceramic paint, you can find this at Pébéo and Faber Castell
  • a toothbrush
  • plastic pipettes
  • a stencil brush

Let’s start with the pipette technique! Dip the end of your pipette in the paint and fill it by squeezing the end.

Now squeeze it lightly to push out a little bit of paint at a time and make spots on the plate (if you’re afraid of messing up, you can practice on paper beforehand).

Continue on to the rest of the plate! Put on your gloves to wipe the rim of the plate. Pour a bit of paint on a palette and dip your finger in it.

Carefully go around the edge of the plate, go back over it several times if needed. Now let’s move onto the toothbrush or stencil brush, although during the Workshop we realized you preferred the toothbrush! So, go ahead and put some paint on it!

Now rub the hairs of the toothbrush to splatter paint on the brush. And TA­DA!!

Depending on the paint you’ve used, it’ll need to air dry, or be baked in order to set the paint­ read the instructions on the bottle. Oh, and of course these dishes can’t be put in the dishwasher but rather must always be hand­washed!

Translated by Whitney Bolin.

Hello mes petits chats !

Je vois que vous êtes inspirées par l’article précédent, vous êtes trop drôles, je me sens moins seule avec mes aventures capillaires ! Bon je vous livre un des do it yourself que nous avons réalisés durant le workshop Ikea de la semaine dernière. Je me suis creusée les méninges pour un bel effet moucheté, et j’ai trouvé que la pipette en plastique était le meilleur moyen de créer un motif irrégulier et vraiment visible ( bien plus que la simple projection au pinceau)… J’espère que tout cela vous plaira et vous aidera à trouver l’inspiration pour vos cadeaux de dernière minute qui n’en n’ont pas l’air… Un set de vaisselle pour 2, histoire de pimper les brunchs en amoureux.

Je vous embrasse très fort et je vous dis à demain pour le concours ultime du calendrier de l’avent !

Pour ce DIY il vous faut :

  • – de la vaisselle,
  • – des gants plastiques pour protéger vos jolies mains,
  • – de la peinture céramique, vous en trouverez chez Pébéo et Faber Castell.
  • – une brosse à dents,
  • – des pipettes alimentaires,
  • – un pinceau à pochoir.

Commençons avec la technique de la pipette ! Trempez l’extrémité de votre pipette dans la peinture et remplissez-la en appuyant dessus.

Appuyez maintenant légèrement pour faire sortir un peu de peinture et faites des taches sur l’assiette (si vous avez peur de vous rater, vous pouvez vous entraîner sur du papier au préalable).

Continuez ainsi sur l’ensemble de l’assiette ! Enfilez maintenant vos gants pour faire le liseré de l’assiette. Versez un peu de peinture sur une palette et trempez votre doigt dedans.

Faites délicatement le tour de l’assiette avec votre doigt, revenez-y à plusieurs reprises si besoin. Passons maintenant à la brosse à dents ou au pinceau mais durant le Workshop nous nous sommes rendues compte que vous aviez une préférence pour la brosse à dents ! Mettez donc de la peinture dessus !

Il faut maintenant frotter les poils de la brosse à dent pour faire des petites projections sur l’assiette. Et TA-DA !!

En fonction de la peinture que vous avez utilisée, il vous faudra laisser sécher à l’air libre, ou faire cuire au four pour fixer la peinture, lisez bien les instructions sur le flacon et évidemment cette vaisselle se lavera à la main et pas au lave-vaisselle !