Hello my darlings, if you’ve been following us for a while, you already know about Lorenzo and his incredible paper creations. So for this special Indian week, we went crazy when he told us about his little marvelous elephants! I can’t wait to make a little colorful troop of my own to set on my desk, or spread out in several corners of my apartment, like good luck charms, guardians of my home (but I’m afraid that Frida likes them a little too much to leave them alone). I hope you’ll like them as much as we do, see you tomorrow for the rest of this incredible week!

Hello everyone! I’m thrilled to be back for a DIY that’s a lot easier than the last two. This time instead of an architectural form, we’ll make an animal: an elephant. If you’re patient, you can make an entire rainbow of them easily. Here’s how.

Cost: between 5 € and 20 €, depending on the materials you already have.

Level: easy

Time to make: between 2 and 3 hours for each elephant.

For this paper DIY, you’ll need:

  • ­ regular cutting materials (ruler, scissors, box cutter, or scalpel knife)
  • glue
  • pinking shears (scalloped and others if possible), ­
  • shaped paper punches(heart and sun),
  • A4 format sheets of colorful paper (120g/m2 minimum thickness): one A4 for each elephant,

Download the pattern of an elephant here and print it on a piece of colorful A4 paper. I suggest you make it with at least three A4s of different colors. We can mix the colors by mixing the blankets of the elephants. Mark the folds on the dotted line and cut them out following the lines.

Fold each side, and start to glue the first little pieces: feet, trunk, head, body. These are simple forms, you shouldn’t have any trouble understanding how to put them together following the patterns. For the trunk, bend the paper before gluing it. In this step by step, I’m putting together a red elephant, but I replaced its’ blanket by another elephant’s: a pink and blue. This elephant needs to have it’s head on its’ shoulders. Glue the head to the body.

Glue on the straight legs, then the bent ones. Make sure the bent leg glued to the front of the elephant is pointed forward, and that the one behind is going towards the back.

Here’s what it should look like at this point. Glue the trunk to the head.

The ears and the tusks. Don’t forget the tail, it’s a nice little touch. Give it a slight bend, only glue on the top part.

Now’s the time to use the pinking shears to decorate the ends of the blanket. If you want to be even more detailed, you can poke holes in the scalloped edges using the pointy end of a compass, like I suggested in this article. I suggest using the pinking shears for blanket 1, and an Oriental or Indian shape for blanket 2. Glue the blanket on the back of the elephant without harming it.

Out of the blanket papers, cut out a heart using the punch (that’s my girly side talking) that you’ll glue on the front of the elephant and the sides of blanket 2. And two suns to make the eyes of your new pet. Nothing goes to waste: you can glue the leftovers from the scalloped edges on the feet to make little nails for it.

And there you have it!

You can make more with other colors, mix up the blankets, and like me, fall in love with your rainbow family! See you soon for new adventures! Lorenzo P.

Translated by Whitney Bolin

Bonjour mes chatons, si vous nous suivez depuis quelques temps, vous connaissez bien Lorenzo et ses incroyables réalisations en papier. Alors pour cette semaine spéciale Inde, comment vous dire que quand il nous a parlé de ses petits éléphants merveilleux, nous étions en folie ! J’ai déjà hâte de réaliser les miens, un petit troupeau coloré posé sur mon bureau, ou alors dispersés dans plusieurs coins de mon appartement, comme des portes bonheurs, gardiens de mon antre (mais j’ai peur que Frida les aime un peu trop pour les laisser tranquille). J’espère qu’ils vous plairont autant qu’à nous, et je vous dis à demain pour la suite de cette incroyable semaine !

Bonjour à tous ! Je suis très content de revenir pour un DIY, plus facile que les deux précédents. Cette fois-ci pas d’architecture, mais un animal : l’éléphant. Si vous avez la patience, vous allez pouvoir en réaliser un vrai arc-en-ciel facilement. Voici comment.

Coût : entre 5€ et 20€ suivant le matériel que vous avez déjà.
Niveau :  facile
Temps de fabrication :  entre 2h et 3h par éléphant

Pour ce DIY papier, vous aurez besoin :

  • du matériel habituel de découpe (règle, ciseaux, cutter ou scalpel),
  • d’un tube de colle verte dont on taira la marque,
  • de ciseaux cranteurs (écailles de poisson et si possible un autre de votre choix),
  • d’emporte-pièces (cœur et soleil),
  • des A4 de papier de couleurs vives (minimum 120g/m2) : Un A4 par éléphant,

Téléchargez le patron d’un éléphant ici et imprimez-le sur un A4 de couleur. Je vous conseille de faire ce travail avec au moins trois A4 de couleurs différentes. Vous allez voir qu’on peut mélanger les couleurs en mélangeant les tapis des éléphants entre eux. Marquez les plis suivant les pointillés et découpez suivant les traits

Pliez chaque parties, et commencez à coller les premiers petits volumes : pattes, trompe, tête, corps. Ce sont des volumes simples, vous ne devriez avoir aucun soucis à comprendre comment les assembler d’après les patrons. Pour la trompe, courbez le papier avant de coller. Dans ce pas à pas, j’assemble un éléphant rouge, mais j’ai remplacé ses tapis par ceux de deux autres éléphants en préparation : un rose et un bleu. Cet éléphant a besoin d’avoir la tête sur les épaules. Collez la tête au corps.

Collez les pattes droites, puis les pattes inclinées. Veillez à ce que la patte inclinée collée à l’avant de l’éléphant parte vers l’avant, et que celle collée à l’arrière parte vers l’arrière.

Voilà à quoi il doit ressembler à ce stade. Collez la trompe à la tête.

Les oreilles et les défenses. N’oubliez pas la queue à l’arrière, c’est un détail marrant. Donnez-lui une légère courbe en bas et ne collez que la partie supérieure.

C’est le moment d’utiliser les ciseaux cranteurs pour décorer les extremités des tapis. Pour encore plus de finesse, vous pouvez mettre des petits coups de pointe de compas dans les formes de tuiles, comme je vous avais conseillé dans cet article. Je vous conseille un coup de ciseaux tuile pour le tapis 1, et une forme orientale ou indienne pour le tapis 2. Collez les tapis sur le dos de l’éléphant sans lui faire mal.

Dans les papiers des tapis, découpez à l’emporte-pièce des cœurs (c’est mon petit côté girly) que vous collerez sur le front de l’éléphant et les côtés du tapis 2. Et deux soleils pour faire les yeux de votre nouvel animal de compagnie. Rien ne se perd : vous pouvez collez sur les pattes les chutes des ciseaux cranteurs tuile pour lui faire ses petits pieds.

Et voilà !

Vous pouvez continuer avec d’autres couleurs, continuer de mélanger les tapis entre eux, et comme moi, craquer complètement avec votre famille arc-en-ciel ! A bientôt pour de nouvelles aventures ! Lorenzo P.